Glamping Holiday reviews 2013

“What a great experience!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013
We booked a stay in the Stargazer Hut during the October half term holiday. Unluckily, our stay fell on the night after 'the great storm of 2013' which was all over the news. When we arrived, the campsite had encountered a power cut (along with half of the UK) and the manager and his partner had complicatedly sourced and rigged up a collection of generators to keep us all cosy. After a delicious meal at a local pub (we were even offered a lift over there by Ken!) we returned to the darkened site and enjoyed the truly amazing views of the stars. The electricity came back on late at night to the delight of everyone. The dedicated staff were amazing; welcoming, chatty and fun. They even spent time giving us recommendations for local places to visit and they were so passionate about their site and the surrounding area. This was further exemplified by the fact that despite the horrid muddy weather, the whole place was spotless! Highly recommended for a fun glamping experience. Thanks to Ken and Jude. Fab.
Gemma O
Milton Keynes

“Unforgettable stay!!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013
We stayed here from the 29th Nov to the 2nd Dec. My wife brought me here as a birthday surprise and what a surprise it was. We stayed in the star gazer unidorm which had a 5 star country feel to it. It was warm clean, snug and beautiful. We were lucky to have a few clear nights so we could just lay on the bed and gaze at the stars. The managers Ken and Jude were absolutely brilliant and made our stay fabulous. Nothing was to much trouble for them. They organized for rugby to be played in a local pub for us, taxied us in and out of town and on my birthday even gave us a bottle of champagne which was lovely of them. It was nice to hear what plans Ken and Jude have for this site, you can see they love their job. I can honestly say they made our trip. It's not a matter of are we coming back, its when. Thanks again Ken and Jude for making our stay so fantastic. See you soon
HuwGeorge

“Perfect night away from home!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013
Me and my partner stayed in the Safari Hut which was amazing. Warm and spacious with our own area outside for BBQ and fire. Jude and Ken went so out of their way to make sure we were comfortable that we felt spoilt! Really lovely area and views, Tescos only 4 minutes drive away we got ourselves some snacks to take back to our camp.
Highly recommend this to anybody who wants a night or weekend away from stress, Jude and Ken have completely nailed customer service which is really refreshing.
Will visit again!
JamesE2014_London

“Brilliant first glamping experience!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013
We had a great stay here in one of the magnificent yurts and will be sure to come back!
Jude and Ken were brilliant characters and went out of their way to be extremely helpful and make it a comfortable stay. They showed us around the site upon arrival, drove us up to the local pub in the evening so that we could drink and were very helpful with any questions we had. Thanks for being great hosts!
The yurt was massive, very well designed and equipped with everything you could need. We had a really great night sleep and the bed was incredibly comfy. The door opens on to a pretty field that we overlooked whilst cooking and eating our breakfast this morning. We left for London feeling totally relaxed and rejuvenated!
We totally loved glamping and cant wait to do it again!
Fran & Ben
Fran L
London

“Brilliant. Totally felt like royalty!!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013
We had the most awful day,y train was cancelled getting to my partners, then we drove for an hour and a half and the car broke down, a very nice man drove us back to our starting point meaning we had to leave the car hire another one send start the 3 hour journey again, the sat nav decided that we hadn't had enough suffering and took us around an hour out of our way. But we finally arrived. It was pitch black and raining but that didn't matter. We were treated so well. Having camped before we had more than enough equipment but that was all provided for us. The room was beautiful and already warm for us to snuggle up in and relax after the day from hell. We were given a bottle of champers to make the bad taste the day had left in our mouths just that little bit sweeter (I don't think this is usually included, but wonderful). The only thing is you do need a car if you want to get about and visit places but if not it's the perfect location for a girly night out or romantic getaway. We will hopefully be back in the summer when we can take full advantage of the fire pit and maybe the BBQ and stove. Thanks for starting our holiday off wonderfully. Paul and Graham
Paul D  

“We love glamping!” 
Reviewed 4 November 2013
We arrived on the 21st to be greeted by the 2 greatest wardens. We stayed in the stargazer pod that was lovely and clean and done a variety of activities, we wasn't rushed about at all it was all very relaxed! We had an amazing time and are very greatful for everything Jude and Ken done for us! Defiantly will be coming to visit again. For the people moaning about the petrol station, it's great for if you fancy a quick snack or drink :)
Sincla01
Isle of Sheppey

“What a great little adventure” 
Reviewed 28 October 2013 
My fiancé, sister, brother in law and I have just returned from our short stay in the Mongolian yurt. It was a fantastic short break, with fantastic hosts Ken and Judy. Great food at the local pub, which Ken kindly volunteered to drive us to and from so that we could all enjoy a drink. 
We will defiantly be back in the summer to try out the star gazers.
Thank you again all, we had a fab time and look forward to spreading the word to friends and family xxx 
CescaHill
Basingstoke

“A really enjoyable, peaceful place, with very helpful wardens!” 
Reviewed 25 October 2013
We have just got back from our one night stay away in a Yurt! I can honestly say that I don't think we have been anywhere friendlier! There are lovely wardens on site, who couldn't do more to help you!! We had laughs and giggles all night, they told us where a great place to eat was and even gave us a lift and picked us up! Shaftesbury is a gorgeous little town to! We will definitely be coming back with our 2 young boys for an adventure next year!! Also the Yurts are so gorgeous and so toasty warm :-) the star gazers look amazing so will defo be trying those out :-) 
Tara-Jayne1988
Basingstoke, United Kingdom

“What a special place!” 
Reviewed 17 October 2013
2 couples and 3 kids had a wonderful time thanks to the excellent staff, lovely weather and very generously equipped yurts. We had a fridge to cool drinks, a fire pit to toast marshmallows, a nice double bed to rest ourselves after long relaxing days in the countryside and a heater and TV for late night creature comforts. It was the best of outside and inside!
The kids had a great time exploring the site in a safe environment and we will definitely be back in the future, cannot recommend the yurt experience more.
lovetheegyptsun
London

 “Glamping”
Reviewed 17 October 2013
We had a fab time Glamping! The site service personnel we're fantastic. the starlight hut was an experience to be done! Lovely to have a TV and heating but still be kind of camping! Definitely recommend. Thank you Judy & Ken! 
vgange
UK 

 “<3 glamping :)”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 
What an amazing place, we stayed here for our anniversary, lovely people, given a tour of the place before we started, showers lovely and warm, toilets clean, we were given a bottle of champers which was totally unexpected to celebrate. Lovely bell tent except for the bloody crane flies lol. Lovely view outside. Enjoyed the fire pit and sat outside for ages toasting marsh mellows. We escaped from our kids for the weekend and had a lovely relaxing night. We will be defiantly coming again with our children, looking into a yurt next time.
chickflickpop
New Milton, United Kingdom 

“Amazing! what a weekend! This is a must, a weekend we will never forget :)”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 
We travelled a good distance to this site, and after a gruesome journey we were greeted by a very friendly, informative welcoming manager called rob. Judy and Ken the site service personnel went above and beyond to make this a truly magical weekend, tending to all our needs, giving us local information of sites to see, beaches to go to and what was going on in the local town. 
We wish all the staff well and hope the site really takes off because it has good facilities and the staff in place to make it a local gem! We will definitely be rebooking here, hopefully ASAP too! 
Kind regards,
Gareth Padfield 
1razzer1

“Excellent relaxing trip”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 
My fiancé and I decided to have a few days away at the beginning of September. We chose one of the caravan's (Amy). The facilities were fab - cooler, BBQ, burner and fire pit (not that we needed it as the weather was amazing) and the dish wash was only a short walk away. My only suggestion to other travellers, is if you fancy a drink in the evening (and don't want to drive), get stocked up in your accommodation as there is nowhere local to walk to. The staff were really helpful and friendly and I would highly recommend this glamping site. We will definitely go back.
LisaN39
London

 “Glamptastic” 
Reviewed 31 August 2013 
2 couples and 3 kids had a wonderful time thanks to the excellent staff, lovely weather and very generously equipped yurts. We had a fridge to cool drinks, a fire pit to toast marshmallows, a nice double bed to rest ourselves after long relaxing days in the countryside and a heater and TV for late night creature comforts. It was the best of outside and inside!
The kids had a great time exploring the site in a safe environment and we will definitely be back in the future, cannot recommend the yurt experience more.
Ben B
Billericay, United Kingdom

“Last minute booking but they managed to squeeze us in. So glad they did!” 
Reviewed 21 August 2013  via mobile 
Arrived about half five and was greeted warmly by one of the managers. Really friendly guy. Showed us to our tipi which was massive. Only in one of the 4 metre tipi's but so much room for couples! Have already said we will be going back. Probably with a few more people too. Thanks guys 
Claire290981

“Easing into camping...”
Reviewed 20 August 2013
My friend and I had a great time relaxing in the countryside during a one-night stay. Us city girls got some well-deserved peace and quiet. There was a good variety of optional activities to keep us entertained. We tried our hand at archery and cocktail-making. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The accommodation looked well-maintained, our shepherd's hut was clean and cosy. We had a little difficulty finding the place so keep your eyes peeled on the main road; one of the entrances is through a petrol station forecourt. Would recommend for those wanting to get away from the hubbub of city life and relax in the great outdoors. 
Michelle F
London, United Kingdom

 “Family weekend away!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 
We have just returned from here as a family myself (4 months pregnant) husband and 11 year old son, I can honestly say we did not want to leave. We had the best time at this 'glamping' site. Pat the her staff could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. The site has everything you need including immaculate new shower and toilet blocks, we stayed in the Shepherds hut and it was brilliant, yes we did have electricity however still combined this with camping too. The stovepit, BBQ and hob rings made it very easy to cook anything. A burger van is also on site in the morning and again this is lovely and very reasonable. We can't wait to come back in a few weeks time with our friends.
Beanie1981
Folkestone, United Kingdom

“Very Happy Glampers :)”
Reviewed 26 June 2013
Myself and 7 of my friends decided upon a weekend away to celebrate two birthdays. After much research I came across Dorset Country Holidays by chance and decided to look into it further and I was so glad that I had. From the very first email to enquire about what was on offer I was blown away by the attention we were given in ensuring everything booked was suited to our needs and wishes. We booked to Yurts for the weekend at a fantastic rate and were in no way disappointed with what we arrived to find. Each yurt housed four of us comfortably for the weekend and came with an Ipod docking station, tv with dvd player and even a selection of DVDs for us to relax with. Each yurt had its own picnic table, chimnea, gas hob and BBQ - all you could need for a weekend away. 
The wardens on site were friendly, chatty and immediately put us at ease - instantly making an impression which we loved! On the site was also two other big parties plus a few smaller groups, yet there was more than enough space and privacy to be able to mix when wanted and spend some time alone with our own group. The new toilet and shower facilities are well maintained and clean - a key factor which instantly sold us all on the site. 
Over the weekend we enjoyed our own private cocktail making session which was brilliant fun and definitely worth an experience. 
Although we didn't venture off the campsite until we left for our homeward journey, Shaftsbury is a beautiful village, with some lovely pubs, perfect for a Sunday lunch. 
A truly fantastic weekend of FUN!!!! Definitely a place we all plan to visit again...
PipDani
Bristol, United Kingdom

“Stargazing pod glamping birthday fun”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile 
Me and my BF decided to go glamping here for his 30th and stay in the stargazer pod as we both have interest in this and photography. Neither of us drive so coming from Birmingham was a bit of a drag easy on trains via Basingstoke to Gillingham and cheap taxi from there to camp site. The site is split into different sections we obviously on glamping section. Only three couples on site so was nice and quiet think we got in just before busy season and we did go mon to wed. 
The site offers two lots of showers facilities and toilets all very clean and well kept and smelling nice. A garage next to site if u fancy a sarnie or ice cream or tin of beans very handy. We didn’t drive so it was a bit difficult to get about but plenty of taxi companies to take u to shaftesbury and nearby villages. The site also offers a big variety of activities from sausage making wine tasting giant jenga and so on. We made the mistake of being a bit skint when we came so with no car, taxi money or activities cash if u r not in a larger group u might be found wanting of things to do however the wardens on site were fantastic giving us a pack of cards and offering to shuttle us to the pub as my fellas birthday. Pat was lovely to natter to really trying to accommodate everything she could really lovely lady. 

The stargazing pod itself was awesome lot bigger inside then u would think. Really clean and neat a double bed futon with lovely bedding we hired. A dvd and tv a fridge cooler a picnic hamper with crockery and cutlery (u need forks in it though) a heater and carpeted. Was lovely and warm might be very warm in summer though would need a fan. Was lovely and comfy and romantic just gutted about the overcast skies we saw very little stars :-( but still had a fab times barbecuing and using the fire pits and chilling out on our decking just relaxing keeping warm with our fire pit melting marshmallows. We went for walks nearby and saw lots of wildlife. The site also has fresh water on site and many other glamping tents. Yurts shepherd’s huts etc. Really lovely staff very friendly and some lovely chickens pop over in evening to :-) highly recommend for groups of friends and family's or an unusual romantic getaway just make sure if u don’t drive to bring money to get about and book some activities they get good reviews and we wished we could have done sausage making :-) can’t wait to come back felt sad to leaves the pod .....
Markandfee
Birmingham, United Kingdom

 "Thank you so much"
Reviewed 17 June 2013 
Thank you so much for the weekend, it was enjoyed by all, particularly the bride to be! So a massive relief and thank you for your help over the last few months.  
Thank you again and I will be sure to recommend you, Martin was very friendly and helpful so thank you to him too.  
Kind regards,   
Faith

"Brilliant weekend"
9 June 2013 
We had a brilliant weekend with you, thank you so much. Everything was perfect, including your staff. Big thanks to the lovely man who brought fish food over to the lake for my young grandson. Hoping to come again.  
Heidi White 

"Sorry we did not get to thank you"
Reviewed 3 June 2013 2013 
We are sorry we did not get to thank you before we left Rob! We had an amazing time and are actually thinking of coming back sometime next month we just need to chose a date! You and everyone there were very kind and helpful and coming from a customer service role myself I cannot explain how much this made our trip so much more enjoyable! I have already recommended you to many people! Many thanks again.
Kara & Luke. 

"30th birthday - glamping and fancy dress"
Reviewed 15 May 2013  
Our party of 18 was very warmly welcomed by the staff at the campsite, and we were shown to four large, spacious yurts and a well-provisioned shepherd's hut, which had all been helpfully grouped together to stop us from bothering the neighbours. The rooms were clean and well provisioned with electrics, a fridge, TV, Ipod dock and other amenities that set this campsite apart from your usual camping experience. Rob and his team provided excellent service throughout, decorating one of our tents for the birthday girl, as well as providing a surprise birthday cake and dealing with our demands at strange times of the night (four AA batteries at 10:30pm in the pouring rain was particularly marvellous!). We all had an excellent time, despite the attempts of the weather to put a dampner on things. The facilities at the site were clean and well maintained, and the other guests very friendly. The 'woodland creatures' costume theme went down a storm in local Shaftesbury.
I can't recommend this glampsite enough - and would like to thank all of the team at the site for helping to make it a weekend to remember. 
McPirate
London, United Kingdom 

"Wow"
11 April 2013
Having trekked around all the glamping websites in the UK - can I just say HOW much better yours is. the list of activities and choices are so impressive. Very relieved to have found you!
Penny Taggart

“I wish I were still there.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile
Fantastic place. Staff couldn't have done more to make our trip very special. It was a long journey but I wouldn't hesitate to visit again. It's quite unique. Huge choice of caravans, yurts, shepherd hut, camping. Beautiful countryside, very quiet location.
clairebruce90

“New Year in the hideaway pod"
Reviewed 2 January 2013 
We had the pleasure of staying in the hideaway pod for a few nights at New Year. The heater had kindly been put on prior to our arrival so the pod was cosy and warm, and we were even treated to a bottle of champagne and party poppers as a thoughtful New Year's gesture (and a bucks fizz reception by the staff the next day - amazing!) . Would thoroughly recommend the site and we look forward to returning later in the year. Only thing we thought could be helpful would perhaps be a couple of hooks on the inside and outside of the pod to make some space for coats and things to be hung, especially with the wet and muddy weather we had.
User ID:EleT02 
Bristol, England, United Kingdom